12 Candles, Each Packet (Part 2): Meeting Babli

nawalkeshri.wordpress.com.jpeg.likearockstar

I asked him to pose like a hero (quite a rockstar attitude, isn’t it?)

His name is Babli. Funny for a name. But it is just his pet name. His pet name also consists of a surname. Mastan. Put-together he is famous as  Babli Mastan. It is a meaningless name but he likes it. He wrote his official name in my notebook the other day. In a fashion that was impossible to decipher. It wasn’t until I read his name in his pocket diary that I knew what it was. It was one of those Eureka moments for me. It all started falling into place, each letter he had written. He has a terrible handwriting, I must say.

But he is fun to be with. He wouldn’t stop aping you. Sometimes it gets very monotous but you have to act like you’re really amused. Because his smile… just a smile is worth so much effort. And that when he loves you, you know you’re doing everything right. He doesn’t like everybody.. you know. Just a few. Those who treat him right. And that itself makes you feel so special. And good about yourself.

He can be a jerk sometimes. Hogging attention and cutting into conversations (though all he can do is groan). But he shows how one can love unconditionally and that age is just a number. And that growing-up and changing with time is a whole-big lie.

I remember this one time.. people were trying to talk to him. So many at a time. He got nervous. I was looking at him from a distance. And when his eye (one eye) caught mine (both) he shouted for me. As if he wanted me to take him out of there. I can’t seem to forget that.

He was happy, very. And why not? He had two free Campas (old-fashioned Indian word for soft-drinks)

He was happy, very. And why not? He had two free Campas (old-fashioned Indian word for soft-drinks)

Babli writing his name in my notebook.

Babli writing his name in my notebook. 

I was packing candles with him (12 Candles, each packet)

I was packing candles with him (12 Candles, each packet)

