VRINDAVAN, INDIA

I got into trouble for this shot. A man came running from behind and was quite mad at me for taking this picture. No apparent reason. ‘Delete’ he shouted.

Law holds our backs. One can take a photograph of anything that is in public sight and use it for editorial purposes without consent. However, for commercial purposes one has to get a model and a property release signed.

But don’t try to play ‘advocacy’ when faced with a similar situation. Safety (primarily if you travel alone like me) is more important than a few pictures.

I obliged and deleted all the pictures of these men playing chess (an Indian board-game). I returned and recovered all the pictures using an image recovery tool.

So the next time someone asks you to delete a picture – chill. Do it. Don’t try to explain ‘law’.

Be safe.

Vrindavan, India

Vrindavan, India

